The past– as I remember it or through a glass darkly

I am going to try my hand at blogging. I had a free blog on Xanga for years, then they changed everything around. Xanga was no longer free, so I thought “well I guess they can keep their thing, I’m not paying.” So other than posting some stuff on Facebook, I don’t put much out on the Internet. I don’t post stuff on FB that could be traced back to me or my family. So there are no exterior house pictures, no garden pictures, no vehicle pictures. If I post personal photographs they are very old. New ones I just email directly to my friends or 2 penpals. Now as to my childhood. Both my parents were married before. My dad had 3 daughters with his first wife, Elsie. My mom had 2 sons with her husband John in Latvia. So as soon as I was born I had 3 half-sisters and 2 half-brothers. Yet to each other they were step-siblings. I only grew up with my half-brothers. The half-sisters were way older than me, they had grown up and left the house. When their mother died in a car accident, the eldest had to assume the role of the mother, cooking and cleaning. My dad made her do this because he had to go to work at the machine shop and make a living. So (as I was told) at the age of 13 she had to run the household. It must have been difficult. I want to say this because I will post later on hardships I had while growing up. But my half-sisters did also.

2 thoughts on “The past– as I remember it or through a glass darkly

  1. I love to read autobiographies…this one is very interesting–so far and I know it’s going to get even better because I’ve heard some stories already.

Leave a Reply

