the day I woke up–behind bars!

I thought you’d like this title. I was 11 years old and had fallen off a pony. I landed on my head on a hard dirt country road. Back then wearing helmets was optional and most parents didn’t care if their children used one or not. I was knocked unconscious. Actually later I found out everyone thought I was dead. They drove me to the ER. Fast forward to the next day. I woke up to find a doctor staring at me. He asked me if I knew who I was. I thought that was a dumb question. But kids didn’t sass grownups back then, so I said my name. I was looking through bars! Yes, bars! There was a shortage of beds that day so they put me in a crib! Later that morning they had bed space so I was put up in a room. They took me to X ray before this and I was placed on a big flat metal table. I cried because I was scared. I thought Xrays might be painful. Then I was taken back to my room. (more on this tomorrow)

Leave a Reply

